Songs For Children
by Emmanuel Ghent
Our Price: $9.99

Release Date: 12/14/99

"Songs For Children" is available at where you can also listen to sound clips!

Track Listings
  1. Now Is The Time
  2. Spain
  3. One, Two, Three, Four, Five
  4. I'm Sorry
  5. What's All That Noise?
  6. Our Dog Was Barking All Night
  7. I'm Sleepy
  8. Every Week Has Seven Days
  9. January, February
  10. Just Five Minutes More
  11. My Mother and Father
  12. Let's Hope There Ain't A Ghost Behind Us
  13. Abigail
  14. Here Comes The Monster
  15. The Moon Was Green With Envy
  16. Mischief!
  17. All You Need Is An Extra Head
  18. Soon We Will Learn To Count
  19. Better Get Your Ticket Right Away
  20. The Circumdiddle
  21. I So Wish You'd Come Over Here
  22. If You Knew How Hard I Tried
  23. I'm Calling

Musicians & Credits

Susan Moore Walters - piano
Valerie Ghent - vocals, sound design
Deborah Berg - vocals
Keith Fluitt - vocals
David Tofani - clarinet/flute
Benjamin Orick - snare/brushes
Grady Locklear - at age 3! Grady sings on "I'm Sorry", "Here Comes The Monster!", and in the intro and outro of "All You Need Is An Extra Head" Alexander and Sara Krolewski - at ages 5 and 2! on the intro and outro of "All You Need Is An Extra Head" (Special note: Grady, Alex and Sara are Emmanuel Ghent's grandchildren!)

+   +   +

All songs written by Emmanuel Ghent
Arranged by: Emmanuel Ghent & Valerie Ghent
Recorded/Mixed by: Valerie Ghent
Produced by: Valerie Ghent
Executive producer: James Biondolillo


Bell Labs 1974

Emmanuel with grandson Grady

Complete Catalog

Related Links

About "Songs For Children"

It is with deep sadness we acknowledge the passing of Dr. Emmanuel Ghent, at age 77, on March 31, 2003. His absence will be deeply mourned by his family and by the music, psychoanalytic, computer and educational worlds in which Dr. Ghent so gracefully moved.
Dr. Ghent was an innovator in all things. He was dearly loved and a deeply loving man. He and his loving, compassionate influence will be missed by all.

Emmanuel Ghent wrote "Songs For Children and all their friends" shortly after his youngest daughter was born in 1967. This is his first childrens album! Ghent has been the recipient of many awards for music composition, including a Guggenheim Fellowship. His instrumental and computer generated music, as well as music for dance, has been widely performed. Phosphones, perhaps his best known piece, is available on a Wergo recording: WER 2022-50.

"Songs For Children", by Emmanuel Ghent, is a collection of 23 wonderful songs written for children of all ages from 2 to 102! As well as being enjoyable, sing along music, the songs have an added value as well: contained within each piece are subtle hints about melody, harmony and meter.

Unbeknownst to the children themselves, as they sing along they are learning all sorts of things about music. But the songs' main claim to fame is the pleasure they give. Some songs are joyous, some funny, some invite sleep, others celebrate fun; some songs are wistful, some mischievous - but all are full of fun and imagination. The 20 page booklet contains all the lyrics as well as a set of notes drawing attention to the points of musical interest embedded in each song. Written years ago when his own children were young (and all three daughters grew up singing these songs), now Emmanuel Ghent's middle daughter, Valerie Ghent - herself a vocalist/keyboardist/recording engineer - has produced this collection of songs so that other kids and their parents can share the fun.

Also available is the complete songbook - all 23 songs - of "Songs For Children". The music book contains the piano/vocal parts (lead sheet, chords and lyrics - easy for guitar or piano!) with a complete set of lyrics and notes. A perfect accompaniment to the CD! This sheet music is perfect for teaching in a school or home environment, for teachers, for parents and for kids who are learning to read music. Please visit the orders page if you are interested in ordering a copy of the score. Thanks!

Although Valerie sings most of the songs, on a few songs you can hear the voices of children: these voices are of Ghent's grandchildren! Grady Locklear, was only 3 years old when Valerie recorded him on "I'm Sorry", and "Here Comes The Monster".

Grady is Ghent's grandson of his youngest daughter Theresa Locklear. Also on the CD are the voices of Alexander and Sara Krolewski, Ghent's grandchildren of his oldest daughter, Nadia Ghent. Alex, Sara and Grady can be heard on the intro and outro of "All You Need Is An Extra Head". (The *kids* voices singing "All You Need Is An Extra Head" are actually all Valerie Ghent!). Benjamin Orick plays snare drum and brushes on 2 songs: "Mischief!" and "Soon We Will Learn To Count". David Tofani plays clarinet and flute on several songs including "1,2,3,4,5". Other vocalists on the CD include Keith Fluitt and Deborah Berg. (Keith and Valerie are all the adult and *kids* voices you hear on "1, 2, 3, 4, 5".